6th Grade Curriculum Picks: 2023-2024

Never dreamed I’d be homeschooling a middle schooler, but here we are! This will be his last year at home, and I am so happy with all the things I’ve chosen for him!

Language Arts
He will be reading books selected from the reading lists from Mater Amabilis and Ambleside Online. Some of his reading assignments this year will also be from the Memoria Press American History studies since we aren’t doing a separate formal history this year.
For writing and grammar this year, I chose Language Lessons From Literature. I love the weekly format, the way it uses excellent literature as examples for teaching grammar, and the scaffolded writing assignments.
He will continue with All About Spelling, on to Level 6 this year!

Math
He will move on to Level 6 of Math Mammoth. Math is not exactly his favorite, but lately I have really seen the fruit of his labors! His mental math capabilities at his age blow mine out of the water at that age (and sometimes even mine now, ha!).

Science
We are trying out a new curriculum this year, and I am pretty giddy with excitement. Science has been one of those happy surprises in homeschooling. I didn’t love science growing up, but now I find it so very interesting and have really enjoyed learning alongside the boys! After lots of research, I went with Biology for the Logic Stage, put out by Elemental Science. It combines so many of the educational practices I like! It uses real books rather than textbooks (a collection of science encyclopedias), has a memory work program built in, includes narration prompts, diagrams, and experiments. It is everything I was looking for in a good science program, and I look forward to seeing how it works for us!

Leave a comment